MMM will close at 12 pm on Friday, Dec. 15, for our staff holiday party.

Mariners Award

We will proudly honor Maine Boatbuilders as the 2017 Mariner of the Year on the evening of Thursday, August 24. Since 2006, the Mariners Award has been presented annually to an individual or organization that has made extraordinary contributions to Maine’s maritime heritage. This ticketed event helps support the museum's work; contact Director of Development Peggy Schick to be added to the invitation list. For more information, to order tickets, and to see a full list of sponsors, click here.

Mariners of the Year Honor Roll 

2017 - Maine Built Boats

2016 - Eimskip USA

2015 - Maine Pilotage Commission & The Port of Portland Board of Harbor Commissioners

2014 - William E. Haggett, Bath Iron Works president, businessman and civic leader

2013 - National Maritime Historical Society

2012 - Maine Maritime Museum Founders, Presented in honor of the museum's 50th anniversary

2011 - Nathan Lipfert, Maine Maritime Museum employee for over 40 years and current senior curator

2010 - Leonard Tyler, Maine Maritime Academy president

2009 - The Employees of Bath Iron Works

2008 - Bruce King, Renowned boat designer

2007 - Linda Greenlaw, Fisherman, swordfish boat captain and best-selling author

2006 - Roger and Mary Duncan, Maritime authors and historians





Phone: (207) 443-1316
add to Address Book

Maine Maritime Museum

243 Washington Street
Bath, Maine 04530