Mariners Award

We will proudly honor the owners, builders, and current shipwrights of the historic schooner Mary E as the 2018 Mariner of the Year on the evening of Friday, June 8. Since 2006, the Mariners Award has been presented annually to an individual or organization that has made extraordinary contributions to Maine’s maritime heritage. This ticketed event helps support Mary E and traditional maritime skills; contact Manager of Development Operations Rebecca Roche at 207-443-1316 ext. 327 or to learn about sponsoring this event.
For full event schedule, additional information, and to order tickets click here.

Mariner of the Year Honor Roll

2017 – Maine Boatbuilders

2016 – Eimskip USA

2015 – Maine Pilotage Commission & The Port of Portland Board of Harbor Commissioners

2014 – William E. Haggett, Bath Iron Works president, businessman and civic leader

2013 – National Maritime Historical Society

2012 – Maine Maritime Museum Founders, Presented in honor of the museum’s 50th anniversary

2011 – Nathan Lipfert, Maine Maritime Museum employee for over 40 years and current senior curator

2010 – Leonard Tyler, Maine Maritime Academy president

2009 – The Employees of Bath Iron Works

2008 – Bruce King, Renowned boat designer

2007 – Linda Greenlaw, Fisherman, swordfish boat captain and best-selling author

2006 – Roger and Mary Duncan, Maritime authors and historians